The Mercy Of God…

First and foremost let’s talk about the mercy of God.
God has mercy on the sinner not because of what the sinner has done by his own power. God could actually be in the right if he condemned all people to Hell. He is a just God. If he rained fire and brimstone(sulfur) and each of us died violently after being struck by the fire and brimstone He is still a just God. We are sinners still. We are sinners saved by the grace of God. God is holy and hates sin. Remember what the Bible says about sin.-

“For when you were slaves of sin, you were free in regard to righteousness. But what fruit were you getting at that time from the things of which you are now ashamed? For the end of those things is death. But now that you have been set free from sin and have become slaves of God, the fruit you get leads to sanctification and its end, eternal life. For the wages of sin is death, but the free gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord.”-Romans 6:20-23(ESV)

We must remember what the Scriptures say concerning God’s mercy.-

“As it is written, “Jacob I loved, but Esau I hated.” What shall we say then? Is there injustice on God’s part? By no means! For he says to Moses, “I will have mercy on whom I have mercy, and I will have compassion on whom I have compassion.” So then it depends not on human will or exertion, but on God, who has mercy. For the Scripture says to Pharaoh, “For this very purpose I have raised you up, that I might show my power in you, and that my name might be proclaimed in all the earth.” So then he has mercy on whomever he wills, and he hardens whomever he wills.”-‭‭Romans‬ ‭9:13-18‬ ‭(ESV‬‬)

I’ve heard people say,”That’s unfair that God has mercy on whomever he wills.

And I answer them with Scripture first and foremost.

“Our God is in the heavens; he does all that he pleases.”-Psalm‬ ‭115:3‬ ‭(ESV‬)

God is God he does whatever he wants.

If he wanted he could have no mercy on his creation and still be perfectly just.

But he does have mercy on those who trust him.

Leave a comment